Networking … Notworking…

Its been a week now, at the new zip code 77338, and i have had limited access to the internet. Imagine my surprise when i figured out that Econolodge had a 1.5 MBps + connection !! 

 And for what kind of freaky coincidence do i get a painfully barely legal under the speed limit connection that is slower than a GPRS connection. Even after turning off images/java/javascript, there was no hope…

Enter my brand new WRT54G ver 4!! I happened to find it hiding behind a shelf at Radio Shack! I left no Linksys box unturned to find a CDFAxxxxx RT54G, or a CGN6xxxxx WRT54GS. I found a WRT54GS V4 for $69.99 at Radio Shack in Deerbrook Mall, but this is the reduced RAM / Flash (4 MB/16 MB) version compared to the earlier (4MB/32 MB). wrt54gI studied every package looking for the right one and happen to see a different sort of label on one box that read CDFAxxxxx . Confused, i read it again, and to my surprise, i had found a legacy V4 WRT54G for $49.99!! (Joy!!!)

 Now back to the networking notworking. The Godzilla that is known as a TOSHIBA satellite that was given to me happened to sprain my shoulder and injure my arm in 3 different locations. I figured out why its called a Satellite. Satellite or Payloads are these heavy useless hunks of metal that scientists send off into outer space. Pay Load. You carry the load , and pay .. and pay.. and pay… ( I spent the entire frankfurt-chicago flight with my arm pressed behind my back due to the searing pain 😦 ).

 More info on the satellites from wikipedia.
A satellite is … primary…mass that has a Pentium 4 M with 256MB of RAM and a 20 Gig hdd. When they said 'Houston, we have a problem' , im sure they meant something about lugging this TON of circuitry over continents to find out that there was no plug for the US and the friggin batter was dead.Now it turns out that Econolodge uses a very very very very fast intenet connection. And i was reduced to trying to browse like a WAP user dialing in at 9600 bps on roaming. ( Which reminds me, i got a call at 1 in the morning from India. Thinking it was some kind of emergency, i called back using an airtel calling card, only to find it was the ICICI office. ICICI $#%#$% called me up at 1 in the morning when im on inter-frigging-national roaming to ask whether i wanted a credit card! When i kindly informed them that i was currently not in a position to grace the conversation, they enquired about my return and vowed to contact me then . #$%#$%#.

Oh yes. Houston is fun. Especially since Econolodge is strategically located near Best Buy/Circuit City/Radio Shack et all. And internet slower that WAP over GSM.

 I decided to try connect via the WRT54G , and voila. Higher than high speed internet via Satellite! 
more news later… 

Leave a Reply

